Did you know that turning off location history won’t hide where you are if you use search, maps or weather? When you turn off 'location history', Google stops automatically recording your location for features such as the maps timeline but it warns you that 'some location data may be saved as part of your activity on other Google services, like Search and Maps'. So, when you perform a search, access Google Maps, or get the weather, either manually or automatically through a smartphone widget, Google will still log your location.
To prevent it from doing so you need to turn off another setting called 'Web & App Activity'. Here's how:
If you are an Android user, follow these steps:
If you are an Phone or an iPad user, follow these steps: